

Meeting Minutes - Draft

Urban Renewal Commission

- Wednesday, July 17, 2019	6:00 PM	Commission Chambers

1. Call to Order

Chair O'Donnell called the meeting to order at 6:03 PM.

2. Roll Call

Present:	5 -	Mike Mitchell, Frank O'Donnell, Rocky Smith Jr., Denyse McGriff and Dan Holladay
Absent:	2 -	Stephen VanHaverbeke and Rachel Lyles Smith
Staffers:	4 -	Tony Konkol, Wyatt Parno, Kattie Riggs and William Kabeiseman

3. Citizen Comments

There were no citizen comments.

4. General Business

4a.

Settlement Agreement Between Mr. Williams, Mr. O'Brien and the City of Oregon City, the Oregon City Urban Renewal Commission and the Elections Officer for the City of Oregon City

Tony Konkol, City Manager, gave a brief overview of the settlement agreement. He then asked whether there was any questions and Commissioner Holladay moved to approve the settlement agreement.

Commissioner McGriff questioned why the plaintiff's attorney alleged that a letter sent on behalf of the Urban Renewal Commission constituted a counteroffer and not an acceptance. Bill Kabeiseman, City Attorney, explained that a letter was provided to the plaintiff's attorney that accepted the counteroffer. Included in the letter was a mechanism describing how the settlement would occur. The plaintiff's attorney took the position that it was a counteroffer and not an acceptance. Mr. Kabeiseman said that his basis for it being an acceptance was that the letter didn't change the material terms of the settlement.

Commissioner O'Donnell indicated that he had the same concerns over that issue but felt it would be best to settle the matter rather than letting it proceed.

A motion was made by Commissioner Holladay, seconded by Commissioner Smith, to approve the Settlement Agreement between Mr. Williams, Mr. O'Brien and the City of Oregon City, the Oregon City Urban Renewal Commission and the Elections Officer for the City of Oregon City. The motion passed by the following vote:

Aye:	5 -	Mike Mitchell, Frank O'Donnell, Rocky Smith Jr., Dan Holladay and Denyse
		McGriff

Aye: 5 - Mike Mitchell, Frank O'Donnell, Rocky Smith Jr., Dan Holladay and Denyse McGriff

4b.

Minutes of the May 29, 2019 Regular Meeting

A motion was made by Commissioner McGriff, seconded by Commissioner Holladay, to approve the Minutes of the May 29, 2019 Regular Meeting. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye: 5 - Mike Mitchell, Frank O'Donnell, Rocky Smith Jr., Dan Holladay and Denyse McGriff

5. Adjournment

Chair O'Donnell adjourned the meeting at 6:15 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Kattie Riggs, City Recorder